P-20 Council

Hawai‘i P-20 convenes a P-20 Advisory Council which is a group of 30 leaders from education, business, labor, government and community who share a common vision and mission of improving educational outcomes for the state. Through the unique knowledge and perspective of its members, the council provides support, information and guidance to the P-20 leadership and staff, and advocates for statewide educational planning and policy.

Name Position Organization
Lynn Babington
President Chaminade University
Philip Bossert
Executive Director Hawai’i Association of Independent Schools
Michael Broderick
President and CEO YMCA of Honolulu
Terry George
President and CEO Kaneohe Ranch Co., Ltd.
Lynn Hammonds
Executive Director Hawai‘i Teachers Standards Board
Kristeen Hanselman
Executive Director University of Hawai‘i Professional Assembly
Wilbert Holck
Executive Director Hawai‘i State Teachers Association
Leonard Hoshijo
Director Hawai’i State Department of Labor & Industrial Relations
Bernadette Howard
State Director for Career and Technical Education University of Hawai‘i System
Kaialii Kahele
Senate Education Committee Chair Hawai‘i State Senate
Gary Kai
Executive Director Hawai‘i Business Roundtable
Michelle Kidani
Senate Education Committee Chair Hawai‘i State Senate
Christina Kishimoto
Superintendent Hawai‘i State Department of Education
David Lassner President University of Hawai‘i System
Mike McCartney
Chief of Staff Office of the Governor
Angus McKelvey
House Higher Education Committee Chair Hawai‘i State House of Representatives
Sherry Menor-McNamara
President and CEO Chamber of Commerce of Hawai‘i
Lance Mizumoto
Chair Hawai‘i State Board of Education
Lauren Moriguchi
Director Executive Office on Early Learning
John Morton
Vice President for Community Colleges University of Hawai’i System
Nathan Murata
Dean University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa College of Education
Kathy Murphy
Executive Director Hawai’i Association for the Education of Young Children
Randy Perreira
Executive Director Hawai‘i Government Employees Association
Lee Putnam
Chair UH Board of Regents
TBD U.S. Pacific Command
Jim Scott
President Punahou School
Donald Straney
Vice President for Academic Planning and Policy University of Hawai‘i System
Chris van Bergeijk
Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Hawai‘i Community Foundation
Jack Wong
CEO Kamehameha Schools
Justin Woodson
House Education Committee Chair Hawai‘i State House of Representatives
Alan Yamamoto
State Director Office of U.S. Senator Mazie K. Hirono